Week 11 – Artist Interview – Wesley Hicks

So this week, this particular sculpture really caught my eye. It caught my eye because it was similarly with what I affiliate with, music. I really love music and it’s one of my passions, and although I do not play a clarinet (at least I think it is a clarinet), it still reminded me of my passion.

So, like I said, one of my main passions is music. I’ve played the trumpet for about 8 years and I am still a trumpet player. I also learned to pick up a mellophone, which is like a french horn, but for marching. When I saw this at the exhibit, I thought,” Cool, this reminds me of marching band in high school.” Speaking of marching band, I marched trumpet in my high school band for all four years of my high school career and I loved it. I loved it so much I went further on with it and marched in the major leagues, or DCI (Drum Corps International). I am currently still participating in DCI and have been playing mellophone for two seasons and plan on marching trumpet for my next season.

This piece of art really related to me because it just reminded me of music and marching band and high school so I just really thought I connected with this piece pretty well. At a second look, I wasn’t too sure if it was really a clarinet or not, because it may kind of represent a flute. Either way, to me, it still represents a musical instrument and I feel like I have a connection with this piece.

If you can, please do check out Wesley Hicks’ other works because they are quite magnificent!

Leave a Reply

