Week 5 – Activity – Counterfactual Identity

BEFORE        10711667_737249102995913_839968670_n                     AFTER       10711604_737249092995914_1332026983_n

Well… there’s a couple of things I want to say about this… although my pictures don’t really look like much of a difference, for me, it is. If you want to find out why such a little change is a big difference for me, read on 🙂So… from what you see, the two pictures don’t have much of a difference, right? Well… it begins back when I was still in high school, all I wore were basketball shorts and any shirt I had in my drawer, then I would just throw on my Nike Free Runs on top of that. Much throughout high school, I did not really care about how I looked other than occasionally dressing out of my comfort zone (which meant pants and something other than a t-shirt like a flannel). I’m usually not that type of person although I know I would look a lot classier and better if I did dress “up” more often. Also, in my before photo, notice that my hair is not done. In high school, I rocked a taper (most people just said I had a buzz cut since both hair cuts looked really similar). So I barely had any hair and it was not much of a bother. Overall, my image on the left was very care-free and mostly a casual, relaxed look. Everyone that I know and knew imagines me in that sort of manner. If you ask them what I usually wear, they would say, ” He always wears basketball shorts and a t-shirt with free runs.”

On the other hand… since I entered college, I wanted to dress and be more… how do you say it… presentable. I wanted to look better and put off a better image than what I used to look like. Although I went out of my comfort zone a little bit, I am still who I am. I didn’t change, I just don’t like pants ( if you know what I mean 😉 ) Well, I don’t like wearing jeans because they’re so restricting and I feel so confined but I know it’s better to wear jeans than to look like I’m bumming it all the time. I also started growing my hair out. In the picture above you can see that my hair is slightly moved over to one side (it’s still a work-in-progress :)). With this “new” look (if I just add on a pair of fresh Chucks), I got comments that I look more mature and I appear much older. I went to my old high school’s homecoming football game and a few people couldn’t recognize me right away :o. Although I did get some compliments about how I looked :). Everyone that mentioned how I looked said I had really nice hair and it fit me well and it looked good. They also said that I look a lot older and that with my short hair I looked like a little kid.

Although this may be a minor change to some people, it’s been a really big change for me. I’m already confident in myself but by going out of my comfort zone and “dressing up” a bit more (in my definition) I get a lot more attention and I feel like I fit more as an adult. Ultimately though, this change was a result of me wanting to grow up as an individual (and wear pants/jeans lol) rather than me changing because of society’s expectation. I may look a little different, but I am still the same person on the inside 🙂

Leave a Reply

